• Pflugerville ISD: A History

    Founded in 1860 and named after German immigrant Henry Pfluger, Pflugerville became the center of education for the region by the 1920s, followed by consolidation of rural schools in the ‘30s. Pflugerville Independent School District was formally organized in 1936.

    Since its inception, the school district has transitioned from a handful of one-room schools to nearly 25,000 students on 30 campuses and encompassing 96 square miles. PfISD includes all or part of six municipalities including Pflugerville, Austin, Coupland, Hutto, Manor and Round Rock.

    The first Pflugerville-area school opened in 1872, in a one-room building. The Lisso School was the first of a circle of rural schools supported by farming communities: Dessau, Richland, Rowe Lane, Center Point Gregg and Highland.

    Many of the district’s current campuses were constructed in the 1980s, but its history traces back to the “Red Brick School,” built in 1921 and damaged by a tornado in 1957, as well as campuses for African-American and Mexican-American students in use before integration.

    Also, built in 1934 by the Works Progress Administration, the district’s “Rock Gym” received a Texas Historical Marker in October 2012 and remains utilized by the district.

    The community gained national attention from 1958 to 1962 when Pflugerville High School won 55 consecutive football games, becoming national schoolboy football champions. A football field was later named Kuempel Stadium in honor of Charles and Hubert “Hub” Kuempel, the coaches who built the winning football program.

    Population growth continued after the 1980s, a situation that challenged the district to build schools to accommodate the rapidly expanding student population and, at the same time, maintain the quality of education the community had come to expect.

    Campuses most recently were built in 2012, 2013 and 2014, and construction has begun on the district’s fourth high school, which is anticipated to provide relief to Hendrickson High School when it opens for the 2017-18 school year.

     Current PfISD Campuses
     Year Opened
     Theodor Timmerman Elementary School
     Pflugerville High School
     Pflugerville Elementary School
     Parmer Lane Elementary School
     Pflugerville Middle School
     Northwest Elementary School
     Dessau Elementary School
     Westview Middle School
     Windermere Elementary School
     River Oaks Elementary School
     Robert Provan Opportunity Center
     Brookhollow Elementary School
     Park Crest Middle School
     John B. Connally High School
     Spring Hill Elementary School
     Copperfield Elementary School
     Windermere Primary School
     Dessau Middle School
     Jack C. and Winnie Mae Murchison Elementary School
     Fannie Mae Caldwell Elementary School
     Wilhelmina Delco Primary School
     Robert E. Hendrickson High School
     Rowe Lane Elementary School
     Highland Park Elementary School
     Kelly Lane Middle School
     Wieland Elementary School
     Jose Riojas Elementary School
     Ruth Barron Elementary School
     Cele Middle School
    Leonard and Audrey Dearing Elementary School
    PfISD History
Last Modified on September 6, 2016