Return to Headlines

District celebrates Teacher Appreciation Wek

May 7, 2019

Students, parents and schools across the nation will celebrate their educators all week for Teacher Appreciation Week. And for those who want to go all out for one specific day, Tuesday is Teacher Appreciation Day.
PfISD’s principals and the District have encouraged parents and students to show their appreciation for their teachers all week, many with themed days each day of the week.
For example, Mott Elementary is hosting movie-themed days along with its PTO. Tuesday is “Lights, Camera, Appetizers!” Thursday will have a popcorn bar before Friday’s “That’s a Wrap” party with sandwich wraps for lunch.
Wieland Elementary’s PTO is encouraging students and parents to write thank you notes on Tuesday and closing the week with homemade gifts of appreciation on Friday after other themed days.
While these are just two examples, teachers across the District will be praised for the work they do in and out of the classroom for their students this week.
PfISD also will name its District Teachers of the Year later this week. Each school has already named the teacher of the year for their campuses, and one elementary and one secondary teacher will receive the district award.
2019 PfISD Teacher of the Year Finalists
Barron Elementary: Mary Del Rosario
Brookhollow Elementary: Shari Griffith
Caldwell Elementary: Lisa Blancarte
Copperfield Elementary: Dawn Grimes
Dearing Elementary: Leann Carnes
Del Primary: Irma Jaimes
Dessau Elementary: Mikaela Andres
Highland Park Elementary: Brianna Thompson
Mott Elementary: Lorraine Huber
Murchison Elementary: Mary Katherine Higgins
Northwest Elementary: Sarah Ameluxen
Parmer Lane Elementary: Brandy Hanson
Pflugerville Elementary: Susan Kruger
Riojas Elementary: Meghan Teenier
River Oaks Elementary: Lila Gomez
Rowe Lane Elementary: Rebecca Detzel
Spring Hill Elementary: Kelsey Baird
Timmerman Elementary: Amber Peterson
Wieland Elementary: Meagan Lodzinski
Windermere Elementary: Jordyn Johnson
Windermere Primary: Tania Gallegos
Cele Middle School: Jamie Eckert
Connally High School: Brittany Slover
Dessau Middle School: Scott Cargile
Hendrickson High School: Kirsten Nash
Kelly Lane Middle School: Christie Garrett
PACE: Keith Gregory
Park Crest Middle School: Melissa Brydson
Pflugerville High School: Heidi Reich
Pflugerville Middle School: Jessica Rocha
Provan Opportunity Center: Eric Fitzgerald
Weiss High School: David Waldrop
Westview Middle School: Cristina Ferrari