Return to Headlines

National Merit Finalists

March 7, 2019  

National Merit Finalists Two Pflugerville ISD high school students have been named National Merit Finalists, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).   

Benjamin Casillas and Emily McCoy of Pflugerville High School are among the select group of students nationwide named Merit Finalists.

NMSC annually hosts its National Merit Scholarship Program, with students competing for college scholarships that may pay for up to four years of higher education. 

The central part of the program is the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. An estimated 1.6 million high school juniors annually take the PSAT/NMSQT.

The following fall, students across the nation are named either Commended Scholars or National Merit Semifinalists, with Semifinalists continuing in the competition.

Approximately 15,000 students are named Merit Finalists each year.

The field of Finalists is later whittled down to include only Merit Scholars, who receive college scholarships.