Hendrickson High School


Hendrickson High School Advances in International Debate Competition

Contributed Release from International Public Policy Forum 

Hendrickson High School Advances in International Debate Competition

Global Competition Sponsored by the Brewer Foundation and New York University 

January 11, 2017 – Students from Hendrickson High School in Pflugerville have advanced to the “Top 32” round of the International Public Policy Forum (IPPF).

Sponsored by the Brewer Foundation and New York University, the IPPF is the first and only debate competition that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy.

By advancing, the students remain eligible to win a $10,000 grand prize and an all-expenses-paid trip to the IPPF Finals in New York City on May 6, 2017.

“These students have excelled at the IPPF’s unique test of research, analytical, writing and advocacy skills,” said William A. Brewer III, chairman of the Brewer Foundation and a founder of the IPPF. “They now advance to the Round of 32 – the next written round of the competition and a step closer to the IPPF Finals.”

This year, hundreds of teamssubmitted qualifying round essays affirming or negating the 2016-17 IPPF topic, “Resolved: The obligation to provide safe haven for refugees should outweigh a government’s right to control its borders.” Those essays were reviewed by a committee, which determined the “Round of 64” teams based on the overall quality of each 2,800-word essay.

In November, the “Round of 64” teams then began a single-elimination, written debate competition. Each team was assigned a position (affirmative or negative) and then volleyed papers back and forth with another team via email. A panel of judges reviewed the essays and selected the winning teams. In that round, Hendrickson High School advanced over Bozeman High School from Bozeman, Montana.

The “Top 32” round begins immediately. Hendrickson High School will compete in a written debate against North Allegheny Senior High School from Wexford, Pennsylvania. The top 32 teams include 26 U.S. teams from 17 U.S. states. There are six international teams from schools in China, Czech Republic, Kingdom of Bahrain, Nepal, Slovakia and Taiwan.

The winning teams will be announced on February 13, and will proceed to the “Sweet 16” round. On March 23, the “Elite 8” teams will be announced. Those teams will travel to New York City on an all-expenses-paid trip to the IPPF Finals in New York City. The Finals will take place on May 6, 2017, at the Harold Pratt House.

The IPPF Finals give students the opportunity to participate in oral debates in front of some of the world’s foremost experts in debate, business, law and politics. The winning team will take home the “Brewer Cup” and a $10,000 grand prize.

The “Top 32” teams:

Beijing ENREACH, Beijing, China
Rato Bangala School, Lalitpur, Nepal
Hathaway Brown School (1), Shaker Heights, Ohio
Trinity Preparatory School, Winter Park, Florida
The British School of Bahrain, Hamala, Kingdom of Bahrain
Bridgewater-Raritan High School, Bridgewater, New Jersey
The Davidson Academy of Nevada, Reno, Nevada
Woodward Academy, College Park, Georgia
Solon High School, Solon, Ohio
Team Czech Republic, Říčany u Prahy, Czech Republic
duPont Manual High School, Louisville, Kentucky
Ladue Horton Watkins High School, St. Louis, Missouri
Unionville High School, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
La Cañada High School, La Cañada, California
Millburn High School, Millburn, New Jersey
Jasper High School, Plano, Texas
Greenwich High School, Greenwich, Connecticut
Peak to Peak Charter School, Lafayette, Colorado
Plano West Senior High School, Plano, Texas
Annapolis High School, Annapolis, Maryland
Hendrickson High School, Pflugerville, Texas
North Allegheny Senior High School, Wexford, Pennsylvania
Notre Dame High School, Sherman Oaks, California
Stuyvesant High School, New York, New York
Taipei American School, Taipei, Taiwan
Bonita Vista High School, Chula Vista, California
Bilingvalne gymnazium Milana Hodzu, Sucany, Slovakia
Plano Senior High School, Plano, Texas
East Mountain High School, Sandia Park, New Mexico
Westfield Academy, West Hartford, Connecticut
John Handley High School, Winchester, Virginia
Carmel High School, Carmel, Indiana

About the IPPF and the Brewer Foundation:

The IPPF was founded in 2001 by the Brewer Foundation (formerly Bickel & Brewer Foundation), and is now jointly administered with New York University. The program is available to all high schools around the world – public and private – for free. The IPPF is endorsed by leading forensic agencies, such as the National Association for Urban Debate Leagues, the International Debate Education Association, the Impact Coalition, Associated Leaders of Urban Debate Leagues, and the National Debate Coaches Association. The National Association of Secondary School Principals has placed the IPPF on the NASSP Advisory List of Student Contests and Activities every year since 2012.

The Brewer Foundation is a private, non-profit organization funded by companies, individuals and the national litigation firm of Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors. With offices in New York and Dallas, the Foundation has achieved widespread recognition for its efforts to create, fund and manage a variety of educational outreach programs.

Visit the IPPF at www.ippfdebate.com, www.facebook.com/ippfdebate, or on Twitter at @IPPF1.


For more information, contact Katherine Leal Unmuth, Brewer Foundation.
214-653-4832 / kunmuth@brewerattorneys.com.