Staff Members Honored at Employee Recognition Banquet

Pflugerville ISD honored campus teachers of the year, rookie teachers of the year, humanitarians of the year, and District support staff of the year, and named its elementary and secondary District teachers of the year at the District's annual Employee Recognition Banquet on May 5. The Pflugerville Education Foundation sponsored the event.

Caldwell Elementary's Lise Brown was named Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Kelly Lane Middle School's Clint Shuman was named Secondary Teacher of the Year.

"Each one of tonight's honorees is an outstanding illustration of the District's motto - Each Child. Their Future. Our World," Superintendent of Schools Charles Dupre said. "In jobs ranging from teacher to custodian, educational assistant to assistant principal, these staff members are shining examples of what makes Pflugerville an outstanding District."

Elementary Teacher of the Year Lise Brown, Caldwell Elementary

Lise BrownBrown is a 16-year teaching veteran and has been at Caldwell Elementary since 2007. This is her second stint at Caldwell - she also taught at the campus from 2002-05. She began her career in 1993 as a teacher at Odom Elementary in Austin ISD. She has a bachelor's degree in applied learning and development from The University of Texas.

Citing her third grade teacher Mrs. Boyd as a major influence, Brown experienced the positive impact teachers can make on the lives of students first hand.

"Mrs. Boyd so was dedicated and worked tirelessly with me after school to help me with math," Brown said. "I remember feeling so dumb, and thinking I would never understand, and she worked with me until I was able to understand."

That kindness, compassion and dedication to ensuring each student is successful is something Brown tries to emulate.

"I pride myself in knowing and honoring what students already know and pushing them beyond what they ever thought was possible," she said. "I also pride myself in knowing what my students don't understand, and working with them in a small group or one-on-one to ensure they master the concept."

Caldwell Elementary Principal Sonya Collins sees the difference Brown makes in the lives of her students.

"Words are not able to capture the learning that takes place daily in Lise Brown's classroom," Collins said. "Lise is a vibrant example of an excellent teacher."

Secondary Teacher of the Year Clint Shuman, Kelly Lane Middle School

Clint ShumanShuman is in his fourth year at Kelly Lane Middle School and his fifth year overall as a teacher. He earned a bachelor's degree in exercise sports science, athletic training at Texas State, and is currently pursuing his master's degree there.

Like Brown, Shuman recalls a very close relationship with two influential educators who helped shape his future - his grandparents.

"As far back as I can remember, I would visit my grandparents and they would spend time reading with me, teaching me math and educating me," Shuman said. "They were both educators, and as I got older I enjoyed listing to their stories of the lives they touched and changed."

Shuman knew he wanted to make an impact on students who needed a positive influence in their lives.

"I want to affect the lives of students to help make them successful, regardless of what other believe about them," Shuman said.

Kelly Lane Middle School Principal Devin Padavil believes Shuman is doing just that.

"Clint seems to have radar for the kids who need him the most," Padavil said. "He is a positive influence on our entire campus, and through his actions and his words, Clint embodies the attitude of serving others."


2009-10 PISD Teachers and Humanitarians of the Year:

Campus Teacher of Year Humanitarian of Year
Connally High School Joel Morgan Connie Sinclair
Hendrickson High School Tom Lucas Lori Carl
Pflugerville High School Cynthia Sivek Catherine Renner
Provan Opportunity Center Uyen Tran Rudy Mojica, Sr.
PACE Erin McDonald Kim Sanchez
Dessau Middle School Eleanor Bilotta Rosie Martinez
Kelly Lane Middle School Clint Shuman Doug Kasselberg
Park Crest Middle School Natosha Vecchio Tiffany Commerford
Pflugerville Middle School Shelia Vinson Crystal Keck
Westview Middle School Ashley Zeornes Cheryl Michulka
Brookhollow Elementary Steven Brock Carlos Munoz
Caldwell Elementary Lise Brown Rosa Ramos
Copperfield Elementary Kim Cruz Avi Santos
Delco Primary Tekisha Scott Rodney Wingwood
Dessau Elementary Sarah Alexander Tony Diaz-Cruz
Highland Park Elementary Peg Kienitz Anna Dunn
Murchison Elementary Sandra Davis Sharon Moon
Northwest Elementary Tammi Muraoka Walker Karen Mooney
Parmer Lane Elementary Maria Mazzei-Tovar Carol Greene
Pflugerville Elementary Connie Jones Jennifer Cunha
River Oaks Elementary Lea Noworatzky Sandra Cordingly
Rowe Lane Elementary Jamie Eckert Wyndie Wingate
Spring Hill Elementary Karen McCollum Ruby Starr
Timmerman Elementary Stephanie Anthes Michael Burrell
Wieland Elementary Tammy Larson Mary Lynch
Windermere Elementary Erin Sutliff Barbara Mitchell
Windermere Primary Lily Truong Terry Duncan


Name Campus Award
Lyndsey Olivarez Wieland Elementary School Rookie Teacher of the Year
Amy Payton Park Crest Middle School Rookie Teacher of the Year
Samuel Lopez- Diaz Kelly Lane Middle School Custodian of the Year
Concepcion Moreno Support Services Grounds Person of the Year
Iris Briones Park Crest Middle School ARAMARK Employee of the Year
James Woods
Petermann Employee of the Year
Ricardo Juarez Support Services Maintenance Person of the Year
Kathleen Schwitters Windermere Elementary Support Staff of the Year

posted 05/07/10